How to roll back the iPhone to the factory settings

Hard Reset iPhone: ways to effectively erase your iPhone

Resetting your iPhone can sound so awful that it will erase all the data on your iPhone. But this may actually be the last choice in some circumstances. When you encounter nasty problems with your iPhone, and a simple restart or reboot can’t handle them, then you need to consider a hard reset of your iPhone. How to perform a hard reset on iPhone? You can get some effective methods in this article on how to hard reset iPhone.

Restore iPhone data from iTunes backup after recovery

If you have iTunes backup, you will be allowed to restore iPhone with iTunes backup. You can select “Restore from iTunes Backup” before setting up iPhone as described above. Alternatively, you can follow the guide below and after setting up iPhone to restore iPhone data from iTunes.

Step 1 Connect iPhone to PC with USB cable, click the iPhone icon on top.

Step 2 Choose a backup from the “Restore from this backup” “Continue” drop-down list to restore your iPhone data after restoring. During this process, your iPhone will reboot and you need to wait patiently.

You need to keep your iPhone with enough battery to restore data during the restart process.

You need to turn off “Find iPhone” by selecting “Settings” “iCloud” Slide “Find iPhone” to OFF. And log in to your iCloud account to confirm.

If your iTunes backup is encrypted, you will need to enter the password. If you have forgotten your iTunes password, you can go to Tips on how to forget your iTunes password.

How to restore your iPhone to factory settings

Restoring iPhone factory settings seems normal in our daily life, especially if you want to sell or gift your iPhone to others, forget your Apple ID password, fail to sync your iPhone with iTunes and other circumstances.

See also  How to copy contacts from iPhone on Android

Reset iPhone to factory settings lets you not only restore iPhone’s original settings, but also delete data, including music, pictures, apps, and other data.

In short, restoring iPhone means that your data will be completely deleted from your device and restarted as new.

In this article, we’ll look at three easy ways to restore your iPhone to its factory settings:

If you are ready to use this iPhone, your best options are option 1 and option 2.

But if you want to sell or gift your iPhone to others, option 3 is highly recommended. With option 3, your data will be completely erased.

Before restoring your iPhone to its factory settings, it makes sense to back up your iPhone by backing it up to iTunes or iCloud. With a backup in iTunes or iCloud, you can quickly restore your iPhone data.

Reset via iPhone settings

The easiest option to get back to the original state is to reset all content through the “Settings” of the device. To do this, it is recommended to perform several consecutive steps:

  • Open the menu, then. “Settings”. “Basic”:
  • At the “bottom” of “Basic” settings, select “Reset”:
  • Press “Reset all settings” to erase the information in order to reset the phone to the factory settings. In this case the data is not deleted.
  • To do a complete zeroing choose “Erase content and settings”. Then come up with and type in a new password to unlock:

How to Reset iPhone To Factory Default

roll, back, iphone, factory

Reset to iPhone 11

Before resetting, deactivate the “Find iPhone” feature so you don’t have to write in your account data. Otherwise, you need to know the Apple ID. After resetting the phone will require activation. To do this:

Press volume up button for a few seconds, then briefly volume down. Next the power button. Hold it for twenty seconds until the cable logo appears. Connect your phone and PC with iTunes running. In the program, select “Restore.”. After restoring the original settings, choose one of two options:

See also  How to go to the phone after resetting

After using this method, it will reset to factory settings, delete personal data, and install the latest version of iOS.

The second way

Deactivate “Find iPhone” function. Check that you have the latest version of iTunes. Connect your phone to your PC with the cable. In the program, select iPhone, next:

How to reset your iPhone or iPad to factory settings

This method is suitable when the device is working and you can unlock its screen. Reset through the settings menu to erase all personal data from your iPhone or iPad before selling. Or to restore your device to normal operation when it continues to slow down even after restarting.

Back up your important data

If you want to keep your personal information safe, make a local backup of your iPhone or iPad on your computer and/or a cloud copy on iCloud. By doing this, you will be able to recover erased data on your current or new device.

How to back up through iTunes or the Finder

Connect your iPhone or iPad to your computer. If you’re using Windows, macOS Mojave, or earlier, launch iTunes; on macOS Catalina and later, open Finder.

If necessary, enter your device password and confirm the connection request by tapping “Trust this computer” on your iPhone or iPad screen.

Select the desired gadget in the iTunes or Finder sidebar, then click “Browse” or “Basic” in the main window, where all the information is displayed.

Click “Back up now.”. If you want to save your Health and Activity data along with other information, check “Encrypt backup” beforehand, enter your password, and remember it.

Follow the program prompts and wait for the backup to complete.

How to back up to iCloud

Make sure your mobile device is connected to the internet.

Go to “Settings” → “Username” → iCloud. If you have iOS 10 installed on your device.2 or earlier, open “Settings”, drop down the settings page and select iCloud.

Make sure the toggles next to “Contacts”, “Calendar” and other iCloud menu items are active.

Scroll down the page and click “Backup to iCloud”. On the next screen, make sure that the “Backup to iCloud” switch is enabled.

See also  How to scan a barcode on iPhone

Tap “Backup” and wait for it to complete. When the process is complete, the time of the last copy created on this screen will not update.

Perform reset

Go to “Settings” → “Basic” → “Reset” and click “Erase content and settings”.

Confirm data deletion and wait for the process to complete. If the system asks you to disable the “Find iPhone” function, do it under “Settings” → “Username” → iCloud.

After restarting the gadget, the screen will display a greeting and an offer to perform the setting, as when first turned on.

If you can’t perform a factory reset because you’ve forgotten your password, follow our guide.

How to reset your iPhone to factory settings?

You need to reset your iPhone or iPad to factory settings ? Maybe you’re planning to sell your phone and want to erase all your personal files, or maybe you’ve been a victim of theft and want to remotely wipe everything of value on your device.

In this case, a factory reset is the fastest way to delete everything and start over.

Resetting iPhone to factory settings

Important! Before you can reset your iPhone to factory settings, you must deactivate the “locator” (formerly “Find iPhone“) function. You can learn how to do this on devices with different iOS versions in the article linked below.

Read more: How to turn off Find iPhone

How to reset your iPhone without a computer

If you need to restart your iPhone urgently without a computer, you can do so by following these steps.

Similar to resetting your computer, what you need is your device itself.

On your iPhone, go to “Settings” “Reset” “Erase all content and settings,” enter a password on the screen to confirm the changes, and then reboot the iPhone without a computer.

roll, back, iphone, factory